The Australian Society of Hypnosis (ASH) is a not-for-profit professional body which provides Training Courses in hypnosis for any health care professional who holds registration with the Australian Health Practitioners Registration Authority as well as Counsellors, Speech Pathologists and Social Workers, for whom special provisions apply. The Society views hypnosis, not as an independent science, but as an adjunct to a wide range of health care applications and treatments.

Branches of the Society, located in each state, also run advanced and specialist hypnosis Training Programmes and Workshops designed to foster clinical skills development across the range of applications of hypnosis in various health care settings. The Society holds an Annual Congress where workshops are available for advanced skills and lectures given on latest research. This also creates a collegial and educational setting for members where networking and peer support can be developed. One of the principal advantages of ASH Congresses is the opportunity to mix with professionals who practice in different areas of health care and who have a common interest.

ASH is a Constituent Member of the International Society of Hypnosis (ISH), thus encouraging cooperative relationships with fellow professionals in hypnosis throughout the world through these professional and personal contacts.

As a national body, the Australian Society of Hypnosis is the only Australian hypnosis society which provides training in hypnosis and ongoing professional development and peer support for AHPRA-registered professionals as well as Counsellors, Social Workers and Speech Pathologists.

View the contents of the latest Australian Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis.

This is available only for members to download.

Earlier editions of the journal are now available to the public on the Journal Archives page.

Election of Office Bearers 2019

The Office Bearers/Directors for the Society for 2019 -2021 are:

President Dr Gayre Christie

President Elect Dr Annette Webb

Past President Dr Gayre Christie

Secretary Dr Di McGreal

Treasurer Dr James Auld